The story so far

Its week three of seven. So far I’ve opened inStockton, had extra unexpected guests inLeedsand now I am heading south. The first week began up in the North East with one night at The Arc. The Northern Stage gang headed toStocktonto attend a dress rehearsal, they photographed the work, filmed a bit, watched and feedback. It was a bit scary having so many (experienced and shit hot) people there.

The shows themselves were received well, people got it. Well, all expect maybe the Guardian reviewer. He didn’t hate it, don’t get me wrong. Most people leave the show smiling and reminiscing about their own personal tales. Alfred Hickling said “Draper’s presentation is not really a play: it is more like the interval, where you sit down with some refreshment and reflect with fellow audience members over the significance of what you are seeing” That made me feel said for him. Does he have no family or friends? No table? No meal time rituals? No, instead he thought of a show interval, shame.

In Leedsthe show was part of The Mezze Festival along with Analogue’s show for an audience of one, Laura Mugridge’s Running on Air which takes place in a VW camper van and Lavantes Dance Theatre’s interactive happenings. It was great to be part of such an impressive hub of intimate activities. I had a show full of family, one with two extra guests and an audience member who repeated about 50% of everything I said.

After eight 45 minute long shows, plus a dress rehearsal, an interview on BBC Radio Leeds and other press interviews I was a little tired and the show was getting shorter! So after a few days off (and my daughter’s christening) I went to Lawrence Batley inHuddersfieldand Harrogate Theatre to generous venue staff and warm audiences. Including one American woman who said “Oh my god I feel like I understand English people now!”

This week I am heading to Oxford. I am interested to see what people who eat supper or dinner make of Tea is an Evening Meal. I’ll let you know…

If you want to see what audience members think of the show or add your own tales go to.

http://teaisaneveningmeal.co.uk/teatime-tales/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.