Who’s this Faye Draper then?

So this is this place where I am going to share a little, chat a bit and give a glimpse of what I am up to.  Some of you will know what I ‘do’ and some may not. Well…I improvise, joke, talk, play, list, devise, collaborate, dance, question and perform.  Think that’s it really.

My performance work is always playful; I interact and respond to the things around me. I draw from the place I am performing in and from the people who are there with me. I acknowledge what happens in the moment both planned and unplanned. The spontaneous interplay allows my work to be frank and truthful.

I gather stories from friends, family and strangers. I sometimes do this without people knowing or even by accident. I hear brilliant accounts of personal experiences which I scribble down for a later date. I retell my own and other people’s tales. I add bits and I miss bits out. I quote my Mum and a lady I met in a bus station once. Recalling these anecdotes gives my shows a conversational feel even when there is only me performing. There is a home made, low tech feel to the work.

I am not good at acting but sometimes I pretend

I can’t spell well but I endeavour to create poetic text

I like to be honest, sometimes too honest

I use chalk, film, words and string

I am not a trained dancer

I am a performer

I’ve got a way with words as long as you don’t mind my northern twang

I love surprises

I sometimes perform alone

I often collaborate

I am a Mother

I am Faye Draper

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.